Mittlere-Isar-Kanal reloaded

About a year ago I visited the “Middle Isar channel” just north of Munich. I took a few photos, one nice looking panorama and one of some geese on the fly and I posted them here. The channel was nice, but I thought at the time that the concrete banks spoiled the view.  While leaving that day, I vouched to come back during a snowy day, when the snow would have covered up the concrete, and check out the view. As it turned out it didn’t snow at all last winter, so I had to wait for a whole year to fulfill the promise I had made to myself.

This winter we got plenty of snow and so one sunny morning a few weeks ago, I went back to the canal. I reached the location about half an hour before sunrise and quickly set up the camera. I was a bit disappointed, because although it was bitterly cold (-13 degrees Celsius), there was hardly any frost on the tree branches. I think actually we would have had some more frost had it been a bit warmer. In any case, there was nothing I could do about that, so I set up the camera and took a couple of photos of the channel.

Mittlere-Isar-Kanal, Isar, Isar channel, Munich, München, Notis Stamos

The Isar channel and the water reservoirs beyond.

Of the two, this one was my favorite although the other one had a bit more fog on the channel. A more colorful sky would have been a bonus, but it was a really clear day and in the end, one has to work with what is available when taking landscape shots.

The sun was almost on the horizon now, so I zoomed to the trees across the water and waited for it to rise behind the tree branches. I took several shots as the sun rose. This one ended up being my favorite for the day:

Sunrise, Notis STamos, Mittlere-Isar-Kanal, Geese, dawn, trees, sun, fog, mist

This is the kind of time you don’t fancy being a goose. The water must have been freezing!

This is in fact a blend of five exposures. I had to draw a bit on top to sharpen the outlines of the geese, which were a bit fuzzy due to the fact that they weren’t laying still. After this one I took one more shot of some other geese and then I packed my gear and headed to work. I paid for the two photos with a half frozen right hand, which took about ten days to recover, but I think the photos were worth it!

© 2015 Epameinondas Stamos

