Painting Burano

Burano main canal (I think)

Burano main canal (I think)

Last summer I visited Burano. For those that don’t know Burano, it is a small island 7 km away from Venice. Actually it is not one, it is four (formerly five) islands, which are separated by canals. Burano is famous for its houses, which are painted in vivid colors.

Dark red house with dark green door. Prior to processing, I was standing right in the middle of this photo.

Dark red house with dark green door. Prior to processing, I was standing right in the middle of this photo.

Actually, according to Wikipedia, if you own a house on Burano and want to repaint it, you are not allowed to decide on your own about the color. The town council will dictate what color you are going to have to use. Luckily, the town council seems to be good at this type of decisions because Burano is beautiful.

There is nothing wrong with allignment here. This bell tower is actually leaning to the right.

There is nothing wrong with allignment here. This bell tower is actually leaning to the right.

So there we were one summer day last year, visiting Burano on a short day-hop from Venice just like the other 99% of the Burano visitors. Although we knew what to expect, we were impressed by the colors and the vividness (vividness … is there such a word?) of everything around us.

We particularly liked the color combination on this house.

We particularly liked the color combination on this house.

It is difficult to explain it, Burano was different. You just don’t see so much color on such a scale in one place. So just like everyone else, we got the camera out (the small Canon point & shoot again I am afraid) and started taking pictures. This lasted for three-four hours with a break some way through to eat pizza at the centrally placed restaurant with the orange sun umbrellas (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!). Then we left.

The magenta house is what drew my eye here.

The magenta house is what drew my eye here.

The conditions on the day weren’t good for photography. Midday summer sun, strong shadows, colors washed out. Worst of all, we were in a particularly touristic mood and insisted on putting our faces in the frame, usually right in front of the most beautiful building. In the end out of more than fifty photographs I ended up having seven without me or my wife in them. Maybe three of them were not particularly bad.

I had to heavily crop on the right hand side to get me away.

I had to heavily crop on the right hand side to get me away.

You can imagine my disappointment then, when I was reviewing the photos to select some for this post. Although my wife is very beautiful (she is standing right behind me now!), my face doesn’t belong anywhere near a photography blog. So I had to use the three face-free photos I had, plus select some of the others where we were not in the middle of the frame, crop the biggest part of us and let the content-aware fill from Photoshop work its wonders on removing the rest of us.

One can also photograph other things on Burano, such as nets for examble.

One can also photograph other things on Burano, such as nets for examble.

I am sure a lot of you have already seen many photos from Burano. Most of them tend to be similar to each other, as the place is actually quite small. So comparing my photos to those available on the internet through a Google search I didn’t see much of a difference. I then decided to test my creativity and the Photoshop filters and to change each and every one of the photos I am posting here in a different way.

OK, maybe I've overdone it a bit here...

OK, maybe I’ve overdone it a bit here…

Others I have subtly changed and others I have completely blown away. The only criterion was that no two are the same and that I like each of them more than I did the original. Hope you like them too!

I couldn't resist a glowing one.

I couldn’t resist a glowing one.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

