Clouds

While searching for some photos for a bigger post I am preparing (I expect to post it tonight), I found these three old photos. Since I like them very much, I decided to make a short break from the other post to publish them. They are photos of one of my favourite topics, low, threatening clouds in the mountains. Combined with strong winds, they change the landscape within minutes, they have a scale which defies the mountains themselves, they play games with light and shadow, in short they are majestic! Here is the one I like the most:

Majestic clouds over the mountains (Canon EOS 650 with 100-300mm zoom lens set at 100mm, Velvia ISO 50 slides film)

Majestic clouds over the mountains (Canon EOS 650 with 100-300mm zoom lens set at 100mm, Velvia ISO 50 slides film)

I took the photo several years ago. I was driving my car during an excursion with friends when I saw this view in front of me. Luckily I had my camera with me, so I immediately stopped at the side of the road, got out of the car and took this photo. I distinctly remember the strong wind that day, which made the clouds move pretty fast.

I later had the slide scanned and this is what you see here. The only processing I have done is some spot removal introduced while scanning and slight sharpening of the ridge. The dynamic range was too high for my camera to handle and those were the pre HDR days, so the mountains are underexposed. I like the strong contrast and the clouds are the subject here, so I didn’t try to later boost exposure in Photoshop.

The next photo is of the same scene, maybe taken a couple of minutes later using a zoom lens:

Moving clouds over a mountain village (Canon EOS 650 with 100-300mm zoom lens set at 300mm, Velvia ISO 50 slides film)

Moving clouds over a mountain village (Canon EOS 650 with 100-300mm zoom lens set at 300mm, Velvia ISO 50 slides film)

This next and last photo isn’t as dramatic as the other two, but it was taken during the same day, maybe from the same location but looking in the opposite direction. I am including it here to give you a sense of the area.

Lake of Plastiras, central Greece. (Canon EOS with 28mm lens)

Plastiras lake, central Greece. (Canon EOS with 28mm lens)

Now that I am looking at this photo again, I think it could have used an ND grad filter to darken the sky a bit. I may even have used one at the time, I just don’t remember any more. I am posting as it is now, but will see if I can apply the filter in Lightroom later and what difference that will make. If the image is improved, then I will update it.

Ok, enough with clouds, back to upcoming post – Mountain of the Gods.

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

